Notification Groups define a group of individuals who will receive emails or SMS messages in the event of an Alert being triggered. You can specify multiple groups, have individuals in more than one group, and generally can tailor Notification Groups to your specific needs to ensure that only the people who are appropriate to respond or be notified of an Alert event are contacted.
Create a Notification Group
You can either edit the default group, or you can create your own, which is easily done. To add a New Notification Group, navigate to the Monitoring page and select the Alerts Tab.
Decide on Name and Escalation Threshold
Name your Notification Group, and add some users or contacts that you want to associate with the group.
Add and Configure Notification Group Members
When adding a new member, decide which alerts they should receive and via which communication channel (email and/or SMS), and provide the needed contact info if you're adding a recipient who isn't already configured with contact info as a user in the Stackify system.
You will also be able to choose which kinds of alerts are received. This can be no alerts, all alerts via either email or SMS (or both), or only escalated alerts after the specified escalation period.
Apply Notification Groups to Apps, Templates, and Resources
When modifying an existing Notification group in this window, you will be able to see which App, Template, or Resource that the particular notification group is applied to -all in one place. Here you can globally specify how you will receive notifications. To specify which App, Template, or Resource will be applied to, go through each tab in the Modify Notification Window and select "Add New".
In Settings you can set the length of time before escalated notices start to go out (this just tells Stackify how long to send notifications to the first responders before escalating to a second tier of recipients). You can also, if you wish, make a given Notification Group the default for all new templates that you create (there can only be one default specified at a time).
The Warning tab will give you a breakdown of all items a given user does not have access to. This means if the user receives the notification, they will not be able to take action on the alert in Stackify. To change granular permissions for a given user, see our Managing Users and Roles documentation.
Note: Although the user may have certain restrictions per their granular permission security settings, please note the user will still receive notifications based on the notification group settings unless disabled or removed from the group.