Alerts and Notifications: Configure Notification Groups

Notification Groups define a group of individuals who will receive emails or SMS messages in the event of an Alert being triggered. You can specify multiple groups, have individuals in more than one group, and generally tailor Notification Groups to your specific needs to ensure that only the people who are appropriate to respond or be notified of an Alert event are contacted.

Configuring a Notification Group

You can either edit an existing group or create new groups for specific scenarios. To add a new Notification Group, navigate to the Settings page and select the Alerts Tab.

If you do not see the Notification Groups button or the Settings tab, you will need to contact your Account Admin to request permission to edit Notification Groups.

Edit the Name and Add A Contact

Hover over the Group Name to edit the text field.
You can add two types of Contacts:
  • Select User will give you a dropdown of all users associated with your Retrace Account
  • Add Contact allows you to enter the Name and Email address for an external contact that isn’t a user on your Account

Configure Notification Group Contacts

After adding a new member, decide which channels they should receive alerts through, either Email or SMS.

For each channel you will need to add the appropriate contact information and decide on the type of alert they should receive through that channel.

To remove a Contact from the Notification Group, click the red X icon to the far right.

 

Apply Notification Groups to Apps, Templates, and Resources

When modifying an existing Notification group in this window, you will be able to see which App, Template, or Resource that the particular notification group is applied to -all in one place.  Here you can globally specify how you will receive notifications.  To specify which App, Template, or Resource will be applied to, go through each tab in the Modify Notification Window and select “Add New”.

Apply Notification Groups to Apps, Templates, and Resources

Settings

In Settings you can set the length of time before escalated notices start to go out (this just tells Retrace how long to send notifications to the first responders before escalating to a second tier of recipients). You can also, if you wish, make a given Notification Group the default for all new templates that you create (there can only be one default specified at a time).

 

Warnings

The Warning tab will give you a breakdown of all items a given user does not have access to. This means if the user receives the notification, they will not be able to take action on the alert in Retrace. To change permissions for a given user, see our Managing Users and Roles documentation.

Warnings